Link Roundup #1

It’s the day before my birthday, and I’m taking a break from an afternoon of working in a coffee shop with my (Windows, at least) laptop before me like the hipster I thought I would never be. First time for everything, I suppose, including a new feature (?) on this blog – link roundups.

Back when I read blogs more religiously than I do now, I used to follow a few that would regularly post collections of interesting links, helping alleviate the eternal problem of the internet: separating the wheat from the chaff.

I don’t post on a schedule (yet!) over here, so this isn’t going to be a “Weekly Link Roundup” or anything – just “Link Roundup #42”. The minimum number of links I need to collect before posting is five. No news/current events unless it’s particularly interesting, because there’s lots of that already. I’ll try to categorize them somewhat if there are a lot of links. Here we go!

Design and User Experience

Code

  • Beej’s Guide to Network Programming – apparently good. Haven’t read yet. A “little how-to guide on network programming using Internet sockets, or ‘sockets programming’, for those of you who prefer it.”

Cool

  • Gwern.net – some neat ways of adding further subtlety to blog posts/essays and representing the interconnected nature of knowledge; I’m definitely borrowing ideas from this in the future.
  • A Brief Guide to Pipe Organs – I sneakily watched an organist rehearse the Bach Fantasia et Fuga in one of the campus chapels a few weeks ago. It caused me to decide to start playing baroque and classical piano again, and made me message a friend with “listening to organ always makes me feel like if one could hear god this is the closest thing to it”, the most unabashedly spiritual comment this spiritual atheist.
  • Here’s the Bach piece:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkDyRCr_RQ0

Beliefs

Author: krysjez

I'm a student of computer/cognitive science, artist and geek. Nice to meet you! Follow my adventures at https://inmannheim.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

